Village House Of Books

Los Gatos, California

 

 

21 West Main St.

 

Mon. - Wed.: 10-6

Thurs. - Sat.: 10-7

Sun.: 9-5 

 

 

Upcoming Events at Village House of Books


Join us for the following exciting events at Village House of Books!

 

 

APR. 19, 2015

S. G. BROWNE MEET 'N' GREET

1:00 PM AT 21 W. MAIN STREET

The wickedly funny mind behind Breathers, Big Egos, and Lucky Bastard returns with a new satirical novel, Less Than Hero. S. G. Browne's latest story follows the adventures of thirty-year-old Lloyd Prescott, a professional guinea pig for medical experiments. Years of testing have given Lloyd a series of unusual side effects: numb lips, overwhelming exhaustion, and ihe ability to cause a stranger to crumple into sleep instantly. Under cover of night, Lloyd and his guinea pig friends band together to project their debilitating side effects onto petty criminals who prey upon the innocent. When a horrible menace with powers eerily similar to their own threatens the city, only one force can stop this evilessthanherol: the handful of brave men who routinely undergo clinical trials.

S. G. Browne will join us at Village House of Books on Sunday, April 19th for a two hour meet and greet. This master of humor will make you laugh, and will especially appeal to fans of authors like Christopher Moore, Terry Pratchett, and Nick Harkaway.

 

TO RSVP ON FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/events/1572992599625026/
You can also call the store or e-mail us; your RSVPs help us ensure that we order enough books and chairs. 


APR. 22ND, 2015

(AFTER)LIFE ANTHOLOGY LAUNCH PARTY

6:00 PM AT 21 W MAIN STREET

Village House of Books will be hosting the launch party for (AFTER)life at 6:00 pm on Wednesday, April 22nd. Join us in celebrating the authors who contributed to the book, with confirmed appearances by Victoria M. Johnson and editor Renée M. Schell.

The anthology, the first from Purple Passion Press, includes amazing work by talented poets and flash fiction authors themed around death and the afterlife. In the book, you’ll encounter ghosts, spirits, hauntings and the supernatural. Contributors range from multi-published, prize-winning authors to emerging writers. The cover painting, The Grass Bends, is by local artist Lacey Bryant

TO RSVP ON FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/events/802704129779011/
You can also call the store or e-mail us; your RSVPs help us ensure that we order enough books and chairs.


MAY 2nd, 2015

CALIFORNIA BOOKSTORE DAY

ALL DAY AT 21 W MAIN STREET

Following the runaway success of last year’s California Bookstore Day, bookstores across the nation are now preparing for Independent Bookstore Day, a country-wide celebration of books and independent bookstores on May 2nd. From Bend to Brooklyn, book lovers should mark their calendars for this special day of literary parties.

Village House of Books will be hosting local authors throughout the day so that you can meet some of the many talented writers in our area and learn about their projects - and maybe even pick up a few tips to help you with your own writing! We will also be carrying exclusive merchandise that will only be available at independent bookstores, including limited-edition prints and posters, books, socks, tea towels, and other cool collectibles!

In the evening, we'll be hosting KNBR's Brian Murphy and photographer Brad Mangin as they discuss their latest book about the 2014 World Champion San Francisco Giants! Baseball fans won't want to miss this exciting event!


MAY 2ND, 2015

BRIAN MURPHY & BRAD MANGIN: CHAMPIONSHIP BLOOD: THE 2014 WORLD SERIES CHAMPION SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS

7:00 PM AT 21 W MAIN STREET

KNBR's Brian Murphy and sports photographer Brad Mangin will be discussing and signing copies of their new book at Village House of Books on Saturday, May 2nd. The stunning photographs of Mangin and insight of Murphy makes this book a must-have for any Giants fan.

The San Francisco Giants won their third World Series in five years in 2014, and Championship Blood: The 2014 World Series Champion San Francisco Giants captures the season like no other book does. This large-format, jacketed, full-color photo book features the dynamic photographs of legendary Sports Illustrated photographer Brad Mangin. Paired with stories and essays by KNBR Sports Radio's Brian Murphy (of the "Murph and Mac" show), Championship Blood is sure to please anyone who considers themselves a San Francisco Giants fan and wants to remember the Giants' historic run in 2014.

TO RSVP ON FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/events/436700559823906/
You can also call the store or e-mail us; your RSVPs help us ensure that we order enough books and chairs.